John H. Echlin Trophy

The John H. Echlin Memorial Challenge Trophy

John H. Echlin dairy instructor for Lanark County. He died at the age of 69 (The Montreal; Gazette Jun 13, 1933.)


J. M. Wilkinson, Roblin Factory, Tweed, On 1936

J. N. Truelove, Model Factory, Westport, Ont 1937

Geo. R. Brooks, Trent Bridge Factory, 1938

Bet Anderson Oak Leaf Factory Madoc 1939

John H. Dudgeon, Thomasburg, Ont 1940

Vernon Spencer, Campbellford, 1941

Morris Rose, Central Factory, Stirling, 1942

Douglas Rowe, Warkworth, Ont 1943

Bert Jones, Victoria Factory Tweed, Ont 1945

Horace Palmer Foxboro, Ont 1946, 1948, 1949

Blake Johnston Eclipse Factory, Holloway, Ont 1947

David Dean, Delta, Ont 1950, 1951, 1952, 1953

Harold Montgomery, Monkland, Ont. 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958

J.J. MacDonald, Bonville, Ont 1959

Roy Huffman, Corbyville, Ont 1960

Glen Anderson, Campbellford, 1961

Ernie Reid, Evergreen Cheese Factory, Stirling, 1966

Ted Foley, Foxboro, Ont 1969


"Following 13 years service in a cheese factory near Carleton Place Mr. Echlin was appointed dairy instructor and teacher in the Eastern Ontario Dairy School at Kingston. He was also inspector of cheeses in Lanark County. He was instrumental in bringing the cheese making industry in Eastern Ontario to a high standard. Mr. Echlin was president of the Perth branch of the international organization of 100 clubs and a member of many other associations in the town. For a number of years he was chairman of the local hydro commission."

(Eastern Ontario Dairy School opened 1909 with 37 pupils, British 1909)